Claire Trevor School of the Arts Inclusive Excellence

For more than a decade, UCI has taken a university-wide approach to equity, diversity and inclusion. Led by the UCI Office of Inclusive Excellence, this charge is about dismantling the systemic barriers of racism and discrimination that have too long been the norm in higher learning and our broader communities. The Office serves the campus priorities and is committed to a transformative, whole university effort grounded in our values: expect equity, support diversity, practice inclusion and honor free speech. UCI’s powerful vision of inclusiveness and change is supported through a dedication to ensuring accountability, providing training and education, conducting responsive research and building sustainable partnerships.

Claire Trevor School of the Arts (CTSA) is taking on this charge by establishing the CTSA Climate Council (CTCC) in a local effort to further support its students, faculty and staff.

CTSA Climate Council (CTCC)


To observe and assess the cultural climate of CTSA, providing support and guidance for the CTSA community, and making recommendations to leadership for improvement.


To be a trusted, proactive body who works with all members of the CTSA community to ensure an inclusive atmosphere.


  • Defining “climate” as the current attitudes, behaviors and standards of students, faculty, and staff concerning the level of respect for individual needs, abilities and potential
  • Establishing a culture that expects equity, supports diversity, practices inclusion, and honors free speech in our daily choices 
  • Ensuring that everyone, regardless of function, contributes to a thriving and healthy school environment
  • Fostering opportunities for everyone to maximize their potential at CTSA
  • Promoting health and welfare of school, alumni, and visitors


The CTCC is non-legislative, and does not override the administrative authority of the Dean, Assistant Dean, Associate Deans, Chairs or Supervisors. The role of the council is complementary to that of Human Resources at the school, and can be seen as an additional resource for the CTSA community.

Community Agreement

The CTCC is a space for students, staff, and faculty to discuss issues of cultural climate at the Claire Trevor School of the Arts. As a Council we agree to maintain accountability, to acknowledge privilege, to center BIPOC voices, to value and empower all voices equally, to practice effective communication, and to display kindness, grace, empathy, and compassion to make the council a safe and welcoming environment.


Representatives of the CTCC include faculty from the four academic departments (Art, Dance, Drama, Music), and staff representing the various operational units at the school, as well as graduate and undergraduate students. Representatives include the Equity Advisor(s) and DECADE Mentors from each department, along with people who mentor others in both formal and informal ways.

2022-23 CTCC Representatives
Megan Belmonte, Co-Chair
Isabella Cao
Juliette Carrillo, DECADE Mentor - Drama
Robin Darling
Margaret Erel
Jodi Lacangan
Monica Majoli, DECADE Mentor - Art
Martha Martinez
Zachary Price
Nina Scolnik, DECADE Mentor - Music
Tong Wang, DECADE Mentor - Dance
S. Ama Wray


The council meets monthly September through June, and as needed. Additional town hall style meetings will be held to invite students, faculty or staff to share information with representatives of the council. Individuals may schedule one-to-one meetings with select representatives of the council by clicking here, or by emailing a representative directly.


A list of resources to support students, staff, and faculty in promoting inclusion, addressing issues, and learning is available by clicking here.


Claire Trevor Society